Leave a comment

Tip to listen….from older archieves

Electronic music and DJ culture lie at a crossroads at this moment in time. In one direction, the vinyl purists and fetishists, clinging onto the black gold that begat the entire art and culture of mixing. In the other, the technophiles who value convenience, speed and the infinite possibilities that digital mixing offers. But who said you had to pick a side?

Ever innovative and creative, Swiss melodic techno bastion Deetron has chosen to embrace both the past and present of mixing disciplines on Balance 20, showing that the two can indeed live together in harmony – or even synergy – and underlining the qualities and nuances of each school of thought. Bringing his wealth of experience that has seen him release on labels from Music Man to Green to Rejected to Circus Company to Versatile, he has created something truly inspirational.

“I chose to use both digital and analogue formats since I’m using both when I’m playing out” he explains. “This compilation is a celebration of the gorgeous format that is vinyl and a praise for the endless possibilities the digital world has to offer.” To that end, Disc 1 was mixed digitally, with additional production and editing in Cubase and Wavelab, and Disc 2 was recorded with three turntables and an Allen & Heath mixer – and some very special dubplates. The track selection and structure of each of these two sublime mixes lovingly and carefully reflects that inherent choice of medium, while at all times reminding the listener why his highly accessible, humanistic sound is so widely cherished and embraced.

Deetron’s Balance 20 mix takes in seminal classics, exclusives, rare cuts, lesser-known gems, and a healthy blend of big names and underground heroes, with his blend of thoughtful techno and scintillating, moving melody stamped all over it.

Digital CD1
1. Autechre – Nine [Warp]
2. Reno Wurzbacher – Julischkaa [Colombage] + Model 500 – Infoworld (Loop) [Transmat]
3. Julio Bashmore – Craboon [Future Boogie]
4. Shit Robot – Losing My Patience (Unabombers remix) [DFA]
5. Todd Terje – Bonysh [Running Back]
6. BNJM – Blocks [Rush Hour]
7. DJ KOZE – The Geklöppel Continues [Kompakt]
8. Ricardo Villalobos – What’s Wrong My Friends [Perlon] + Wishmountain – Video [Accidental]
9. Move D – Your Personal Healer [Uzuri]
10.Todd Terje – Ragysh [Running Back]
11. System 7 – Positive Noise (Carl Craig Remix) [A-Wave]
12. Resonance – Yellow Train [Vadim Music]
13. Burial/Four Tet/Thom Yorke – Ego [Text Records]
14. Maceo Plex – You & Me [Crosstown Rebels]
15. Lawrence – Above The Sky [Mule]
16. Virgo Four – It’s A Crime (Caribou Remix) [Rush Hour]
17. Mr. Beatnick – Synthetes [Don’t be Afraid]
18. Cavalier – Kaimanawa [Drumpoet]
19.. Nicolas Jaar – Space Is Only Noise if You Can See (Dave Aju Remix) [Circus Company]
20. Throbbing Gristle – Hot On The Heels Of Love (Ratcliffe Remix) [Throbbing Gristle]
21. Avus – Reality Itself [Border Community]
22. LV and Message To Bears Feat. Zaki Ibrahim – Explode [2nd Drop]
23. Model 500 – Infoworld (Loop) [Transmat]
24. Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto – Pioneer IOO [Raster Noton]
25. Andy Stott – Tell Me Anything [Modern Love]
26. Savage Progress – Heart Begin to Beat [Virgin]

Analogue CD2
1. I:Cube – Un Dimanche Sans Fin [Versatile]
2. Substance – Relish (Shed Version) [Scion Versions]
3. Roots Panorama – Threee (Deetron Beats) [Versatile]
4. Ripperton – Swept Illusions – Caravan [Unreleased]
5. Osunlade – Envision (Ame Remix) [Innervisions]
6. Mampo Village – Descending of the Supernatural [Sacred Rhythm]
7. Deetron – Croque [Unreleased]
8. Super Flu – Hallo Halle [Monaberry]
9. Sneaker – You Think You Think [Uncanny Valley]
10. Mathew Jonson – Learning To Fly (Dub) [M-nus]
11. Wbeeza – A116 [Third Ear]
12. Reggie Dokes – Haiti [Clone]
13. WAX 30003 (B) [Wax]
14. Romanthony – Bring U Up (Deetron edit) [Glasgow Underground]
15. Mike Dehnert – Umlaut 2 [Clone]
16. Four Tet – Pinnacles [Text Records]
17. Redshape – Son of A [Present]
18. Simon Garcia – Tears In Vain [Perspectiv]
19. Johanna Knutsson – Heavy Baby (Minilogue’s cut for a cut) [Klasse]
20. Surgeon – The Crawling Frog is Torn and Smiles [Dynamic Tension]
21. Cosmin TRG – Fizic [50 Weapons]
22. Radio Slave – Let It Rain (Deetron edit) [Rekids]
23. Deetron – Starblazer [Rejected]
24. Lone – Coreshine Voodoo [R&S]
25. Rhythm is Rhythm – Kaos [Transmat]
26. Ronny & Renzo – Heartbreak Theme (C2 Cinema Remix) [Rekids]
27. Deetron – Collide [Unreleased Version]


Released by: Balance Music 
Release/catalogue number: BAL004CD
Release date: Oct 31, 2011

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: